Biblical Covenantalism in Five Sentences

It may be help if I jot down what I believe to be the essence of my approach. 

  1. Covenants must be understood primarily by the oaths which bind those who make them.
  2. The covenants of God bind Him to His oaths, which means that if they are unilaterally sworn, they must come to pass precisely in accordance with the words that were used.
  3. Since God only made covenants about major aspects of His Creation Project nothing else in the Scriptures can circumscribe, resignify, or contradict the fixed oaths which He made.
  4. Covenants are primarily hermeneutical in nature, which means a close study of them will yield a better understanding of the whole Story of the Bible and the future.
  5. The Noahic, Abrahamic, Priestly, and Davidic covenants are unconditional as to their promises, and they are to be implemented on the basis of Jesus Christ’s mission as the New covenant “Lamb of God” who acts as “a covenant to the people” to ensure the full realization of God’s purposes.

I hasten to add that there is quite a bit more to it, but I would be satisfied if anyone studying my work were to characterize it under those five points. Everything else that I espouse is a direct result of these foundational tenets.  

4 thoughts on “Biblical Covenantalism in Five Sentences”

Leave a comment